his words, not mine.

for the down-trodden, heartbroken, deserted. for the nomad, the straggler, the cast off. to you who are in need of saving, in need of hope. for those who have felt god’s removed hand, have felt his lack of presence like a flood, who have longed for the impending olive branch from the lord. a word of truth for you:

“For a brief moment I deserted you,
    but with great compassion I will gather you.
//
For the mountains may depart
    and the hills be removed,
but my steadfast love shall not depart from you,
    and my covenant of peace shall not be removed,”
    says the Lord, who has compassion on you.
11 “O afflicted one, storm-tossed and not comforted,
    behold, I will set your stones in antimony,
    and lay your foundations with sapphires.
12 I will make your pinnacles of agate,
    your gates of carbuncles,
    and all your wall of precious stones.”

he won’t just gather you, but gather you with compassion. the physical evidence of his presence may be removed but his steadfast love never shall. “o, afflicted one, storm-tossed and not comforted“, BEHOLD he will not just set your foundation but he will make it glorious. he will not just restore you, but his covenant of peace will be your seal.

as i read isaiah 53, and continued into 54 these words spoke to me. in need of quenching, i was given a drink. his “COVENANT OF PEACE shall not be removed”. while i am ragged and ready for this peace he’s promised, here it is in his words he gave us so long ago. had i been watching and waiting for him THROUGH HIS WORD, i would have caught it. i so eagerly wait for god to heal me, but i am often unwilling to search for him in the most obvious way. when i feel silence, his words are always, always available to me. when i feel as though he’s left me to float aimlessly to sea, as storm-tossed as i am, his word can be (and is) my anchor. the difference in the status of my waiting is whether i am actively seeking him IN HIS WORD and not through mine (the irony is not lost on me that through my words, he’d lead me to his). i am quick to speak and slow to listen. i want him to HEAR ME LOUD AND CLEAR and he wants to quietly speak to me. “i’m here. i hear you. i know your desires and i’ve got my plan”. therein the problem lies: i don’t desire his will but mine. i don’t desire his words but mine. i don’t really desire at all for god to be glorified unless it gets me mine.

my loud mouth and sure convictions give way to good things. but when i refuse to give them up for god, i’ve gone down the wrong path. he is faithful to lead us back to himself.

One thought on “his words, not mine.

Leave a Reply

